Indian @Rio Olympics 2016: Indian Womens National Field Hockey Team

Blog by: Suryakant Tripathi.

The Indian women’s national field hockey team (nicknamed the Golden Girls of Hockey) is the national women’s team that represents India in international field hockey competitions. The team is currently coached by Australia’s Neil Hawgood and led by halfback Ritu Rani from Haryana and is currently ranked 13th in the FIH World Rankings.

During the summer of 2015, the team hosted the Round 2 of the 2014–15 Women’s FIH Hockey World League and finished on top to qualify for the next stage. At the World League Semifinals held in Antwerp the team finished in the fifth place beating higher ranked Japan in classification match. The Indian woman’s national field hockey team has thus qualified for the 2016 Summer Olympics for the first time since the 1980 Summer Olympics.

Roster for 2016 Rio Olympics:

  • Sunita Lakra–Forward
  • Punam Barl–Forward
  • Amandeep Kaur–Halfback
  • Ritu Rani–Halfback
  • Renuka Yadav–Halfback
  • Rajani Etimarpu–GK
  • Dipika Murthy–Halfback
  • Sushila Chanu (c)–Halfback
  • Lilima Minz –Forward
  • Vandana Kataria–Forward
  • Rani Rampal–Forward
  • M. N. Ponnamma–Halfback
  • Poonam Rani –Forward
  • Savita Punia–GK
  • Anuradha Thokchom–Forward
  • Navjot Kaur (Sr.)–Forward
  • Monika Malik–Halfback
  • Deep Grace Ekka–Defender

Coach: Mathias Ahrens

Want to become a writer at BFY?
send us your resume with a demo article/blog on sports or fitness at

Download our android app
click here
(For non-android users click below)
click here