Indian Olympic Champion: Field Hockey, 1972


Blog by: Suryakant Tripathi.

This tournament is remembered for the first victory of a European nation since 1920 and the behaviour of the players of Pakistan after losing the final, which included wearing their silver medals on their feet during the medal ceremony, turning their backs to the West German flag and destroying their locker room, while Pakistani fans stormed the field, assaulted security personnel and poured water over Rene Frank, the president of the International Hockey Federation.

The eleven Pakistani players were banned for life from their national team, but after a high-level apology the ban was reduced to two years.

Team India led by Govin Billimogaputtaswamy met Netherlands in the third place match and won ut by 2-1 to grab a bronze medal for the country.

Team India: Govin Billimogaputtaswamy, Charles Cornelius, Manuel Frederick, Ashok Kumar, Kindo Michael, Galesh Mollerapoovayya, Krishnamurty Perumal, Ajitpal Singh, Harbinder Singh, Harmik Singh, Kulwant Singh, Mukhbain Singh, and Virinder Singh — Field hockey, Men’s Team Competition.

Want to become a writer at BFY?
send us your resume with a demo article/blog on sports or fitness at

Download our android app
click here
(For non-android users click below)
click here