Indian Olympic Champion: Field Hockey, 1956


Blog by: Suryakant Tripathi.

The field hockey tournament at the 1956 Summer Olympics was contested from November 23 to December 6, with twelve participating teams.

Only men competed in field hockey at these Games. India won the gold medal for the sixth successive Games, not allowing a single goal against in the entire tournament. Pakistan won the silver medal, and Germany won the bronze.

Team India:
Leslie Claudius, Ranganathan Francis, Haripal Kaushik, Amir Kumar, Raghbir Lal, Shankar Lakshman, Govind Perumal, Amit Singh Bakshi, Raghbir Singh Bhola, Balbir Singh Dosanjh, Hardyal Singh Garchey, Randhir Singh Gentle, Balkishan Singh Grewal, Gurdev Singh Kullar, Udham Singh Kullar, Bakshish Singh, Charles Stephen.

Want to become a writer at BFY?
send us your resume with a demo article/blog on sports or fitness at

Download our android app
click here
(For non-android users click below)
click here