Indian Olympic Champion: Field Hockey, 1948


Blog by: Suryakant Tripathi.

India competed at the 1948 Summer Olympics in London, England. 79 competitors, all men, took part in 39 events in 10 sports. It was the first time that India competed as an independent nation at the Olympic Games.

Team India: Leslie Claudius, Keshav Dutt, Walter D’Souza, Lawrie Fernandes, Ranganathan Francis, Gerry Glackan, Akhtar Hussain, Patrick Jansen, Amir Kumar, Kishan Lal, Leo Pinto, Jaswant Singh Rajput, Latif-ur-Rehman, Reginald Rodrigues, Balbir Singh Sr. Randhir Singh Gentle, Grahanandan Singh, K. D. Singh, Trilochan Singh, Maxie Vaz— Field hockey, Men’s Team Competition.

Want to become a writer at BFY?
send us your resume with a demo article/blog on sports or fitness at

Download our android app
click here
(For non-android users click below)
click here