Indian Athletics Champion: Anil Kumar Prakash

Blog by: Suryakant Tripathi.

Record timing: (10.30 Seconds)

Anil Kumar Prakash is, without a ghost of doubt, the ‘Fastest Indian’. Prakash, who hails from the state of Kerala, holds the national record for the 100m sprint. Moreover, Prakash is also the fastest in the 200m event, with a record of 20.73 seconds.

Prakash wrote himself onto the record books for the first time in 1999, when he won the silver in the International Circuit Meet at Chennai. Finishing second to Chintaka de Zoysa, Prakash had raced to a National Record, finishing the 100m dash in 10.33 seconds.

Six years after he set the benchmark for the Indian sprinters, Prakash reaffirmed the fact that he was India’s fastest athlete when he went on to topple his six-year old record at the National Circuit Athletic Meet in 2005. Prakash finished the 100m dash in 10.30 seconds and rewrote the national record.

At the Asian Athletics Championships held at Jakarta, Indonesia in the year 2000, Prakash won the silver in the 100m event. While Abdul Najeeb Qureshi went on to equal his record in the 100m event (although was slower by 0.2 milliseconds), his record in the 200m event remains unbeaten.