Indian Athletics Champion: Abdul Najeeb Qureshi

Blog by: Suryakant Tripathi.

Record Timing: (10.30s) [+0.2 milli seconds]

At the Commonwealth Games in 2010, Qureshi equalled Anil Kumar Prakash’s 100m national record.
Five years after Anil Kumar Prakash had set the national record for the 100m sprint, Abdul Najeeb Qureshi went on to emulate the feat at the Commonwealth Games conducted in New Delhi in the year 2010.

Attempting to qualify for the semi-finals of the 100m event, Qureshi equalled Prakash’s record. The feat was rendered sweeter by the fact that he even ended up qualifying for the semi-finals.

Despite failing to win a medal in the individual event at the 2010 Commonwealth Games, Qureshi played a vital role in helping Indian win the bronze in the 4X100m relay event. The team, which also included Rahamatulla Molla, Suresh Satya and Shameer Naseema also set a national record in the event, clocking 38.89 seconds.