All you need to know about Champions Troph

608championstrophyICC Champions Trophy is a one day international cricket tournament organized by the International Cricket Council. It was inaugurated as the ICC Knock Out Tournament in 1998 and has been played approximately every two years since. Its name was changed to the Champions Trophy in 2002.
The number of teams competing has varied over the years; originally all the ICC’s full members took part, and from 2000 to 2004 associate members were also involved. Since 2009, the tournament has only involved the eight highest-ranked ODI teams as of six months prior to the tournament.
The format used in the Knock Out tournaments differed from the formats used in the Champions Trophy. The competition was a straight knock out, with no pools and the loser in each game being eliminated. Only eight games were played in 1998, and 10 games in 2000.
In the lead-in to the 2013 tournament, the ICC announced that the 2013 Champions Trophy was to be the last, with its place in the cricketing calendar to be taken by a new ICC World Test Championship.However, in January 2014, that decision was reversed, with the ICC confirming that the 2017 Champions Trophy tournament would take place and the proposed Test Championship was cancelled.
A secondary 50-over ICC tournament designed to raise money for associate nations.First staged as the ICC Knock-Out, won by South Africa (1998) & New Zealand (2000). The Champions Trophy gained a new name and format in 2002 but was shared by India and Sri Lanka after a rain-ruined final. Won by West Indies in 2004 and Australia in 2006 & 2009. Has been hosted by Bangladesh, Kenya, SriLanka, England, India and South Africa.
The ICC Champions Trophy 2013 was held also in England and Wales and India went into the tournament as clear cut favourites, having won the World Cup just two years prior to the tournament. The team was led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni and it was an important occasion for the Indians after the spot-fixing scandal that hit the sixth edition of the Indian Premier League. Surprisingly, the pitches in the tournament were slow in nature, offering a bit of turn that went in favour of the Indians.

Blog by- Shivangi Jasiwal