Indian Olympic Champion: Field Hockey, 1952


Blog by: Suryakant Tripathi.

India competed at the 1952 Summer Olympics in Helsinki, Finland. 64 competitors, 60 men and 4 women, took part in 42 events in 11 sports. This marked the first time India had competed as an independent republic.

India defeated Netherlands in the final by 6-1 to bag the gold for the country.

Field hockey, Men’s Team Competition. Team members:

Kunwar Digvijai Singh, Leslie Claudius, Keshav Dutt, Chinadorai Deshmutu, Randhir Singh Gentle, Grahanandan Singh, Ranganandhan Francis, Jaswant Rai, Balbir Singh Sr., Dharam Singh, Govind Perumal, Raghbir Lal, Udham Singh, and Muniswamy Rajgopal.

Want to become a writer at BFY?
send us your resume with a demo article/blog on sports or fitness at

Download our android app
click here
(For non-android users click below)
click here